Cedar Rose Cones On Display

Standard
Cedar Rose Cones On Display

My mother-in-law gave me some more cedar rose cones recently.  I had never seen anything like them until she gave me a couple, years ago.  They come from the Deodar cedar (Cedrus deodara), which is native to the Himalayas, but grown in the United States too. When the cones fall to the ground, they shatter, and the resulting damage makes the cone look like a wooden rose.  They are really quite beautiful.

I had a total of ten, and I knew I wanted to do something with them to keep them intact, and possibly display them.  I came across this shadowbox at Kirklands, and thought it would be the best option.Shadowbox display

I started by removing the back of the frame, and taking out the flowered insert. It was a heavy board-like material, and all the flowers were inserted through drilled holes, and then secured with globs of glue on the back. This is a close-up of two of the flowers.board with flowers

I used a side cutting plier to remove the red flower at the base, which left a nice plastic tube base for me to work with. Cutting the flower off was really easy to do, since it was plastic. removing flowers from board

From there, I hot glued the pointy end of a toothpick into the plastic tube.adding toothpicks to secure rose cones

Then I added some hot glue to the rose cone, at the base, where a naturally occurring hole was in each cone.rose cone hole with glue

And I then set the cone done on the toothpick, and let the glue dry a bit, while I started on the next one.gluing rose cone to board

In this photo, I only had two more to add. I also should mention that a couple of them were too tall to fit between the backing and the glass, so I had to take a few of the cone leaves off, until I was able to close the shadowbox completely. I typically tested each one before I did any gluing. Most of them were flat enough to fit fine, but I did have two that I trimmed down, which made the cones a bit smaller in the display.some rose cones on the board

And here is the finished product.  I like the printed background that gives it some color, and of course, the blue flowers.  Now, they hopefully will stay free of dust and damage, and still be able to be seen.Finished rose cone shadowbox display

Thanks for looking!

Sarah

Linking up to Dishing It & Digging It, Between Naps on the Porch, Domestically Speaking and A Stroll Thru Life:

DD Button 250 PNG

b4449-oneonsidebar

Inspire-Me-Monday4_thumb3

IMTbutton_zps110fd80c

2 responses »

  1. How precious is your display. I love the colors as well. Thank you for sharing at Dishing it and Digging it link party. We love having you.

  2. Sarah this is beautiful! I do believe I saw this on display. You are certainly a gifted-talented young woman! The saying is certainly something that you live up to every day. love you so much!

Leave a Reply

