Chalk Paint Mix for Front Door Redo

Standard
Chalk Paint Mix for Front Door Redo

Everyone says that first impressions are lasting, right?  Well, if you’d driven by my house before, I don’t think you would have remembered anything about it.  Everything about the front porch is blah.  Ours features a concrete slab to sit on, grey siding, and a white door. Definitely had little curb appeal.White front door

I have tried to add color by the cushions on the furniture, but that only goes so far. I have wanted to paint the front door now for a while, and I always knew it would be yellow. With the grey siding we have, I figured the yellow would go great, and provide a pop of color. The hard part was deciding which yellow.

I finally read a tip about mixing two colors of Annie Sloan chalk paint, Arles and English Yellow, to create a nice soft yellow. Ultimately, I decided to go with this tip, because I didn’t have to do any prep work with the door that way. I bought one of each color, in the sample jar size, and used an old coffee canister to mix the two colors together.Annie Sloan Chalk paintArles and English yellow mixed

I started painting, and did the inside trays first. The first coat went on really fast, and I used a brush to edge around the doorknob. In this picture, it was night, and so I was pretty excited about the color. First coat

However, the next morning, in the light of day, the yellow seemed overly bright.  It was like the two photos had two different colors.  It wasn’t the color I was wanting, and I knew I wouldn’t be happy with it. Too yellow

I was panicking a bit because chalk paint is expensive, the nearest store that sells Annie Sloan is 45 minutes away, and I didn’t want to feel like I was wasting the paint.  Finally, I thought about adding some white paint to the mixture, just to tone it down a bit.  I had an almost full bottle of Wicker White acrylic paint, so I added that to the paint, a little at a time, until I felt I had the right color. I ended up using the entire amount that was in the bottle.  I figured that if adding the acrylic to the chalk paint ruined it in any way, then I would just have to start over with new paint, which I was going to have to do anyway.Add Acrylic white

I got to painting the second coat on, with the new paint color. Even as I was brushing it on, I could tell that I was going to like this color. I also did it during the day, so that I could really tell what it would be like. Second coat with whicker white

And here is the door with the second coat on.  Much improved, and more what I was wanting. Whew!  I didn’t notice any problems with adding the acrylic to the chalk paint, as it was being brushed on, or drying. It still had that chalky finish to the touch.finished second coat

For the final coat, I didn’t use wax, like most would.  Since this is the door that gets the most use in our house, I wanted something durable for the sealer.  Also, it gets super hot here in the summer, and didn’t want the wax damaged from the heat. I decided on a clear semi gloss Spar Urethane.  top coat sealer

And here is the sheen the semi gloss provided on the door.  It is very nice, and went on well over the chalk paint. I ended up doing two coats of this as well. Let’s hope it is durable enough to stand up to the wear and tear the front door gets. Sheen to the front door

I have to say I love how it turned out.  I like the pop of color it provides to the front of the house, and I like how the cushions have a bit of yellow to pair with the door. Now, I just have to get rid of that concrete slab. I have ideas for that, but have to wait for now:)chalk painted front door

Thanks for looking!

Sarah

Linking up to Between Naps on the Porch, Domestically Speaking and A Stroll Thru Life:

b4449-oneonsidebar

Inspire-Me-Monday4_thumb3

IMTbutton_zps110fd80c

 

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

