IKEA Hack to Add Legs to Old Trunk

Standard
IKEA Hack to Add Legs to Old Trunk

I’ve had an old green trunk for a while now, and I have picture albums stored in it.  I’ve wanted to add legs to the trunk since I got it, but I couldn’t find any that really wowed me.  However, since it has pictures in it, I wanted the trunk up off the floor, so I knew I had to come up with something.

One day, I was searching the internet for something totally different, and came across the IKEA Hackers website. I saw the Capita brackets, and it just clicked that I could use those for the trunk legs. They seemed like they would be really cool for this trunk.

This is what I started with.  Just your basic trunk.  Unfortunately, this is not a great picture, but you can get the idea.  Someone had taped the latch, which I ended up removing. I saw why they did that, since it would be really easy to lock this one, and there is no key.01 Trunk before legs

This is what the inside looks like.  Old, glued-on paper and a divided tray.  There is even one stay that is still attached and working, and all three leather handles are still on it!Inside of trunk

Double D finished this when I wasn’t home, so I didn’t get any pictures of the process of attaching the legs. Basically he positioned the legs in line with each other, and drilled a hole where he wanted them. I told him that I would like the outer side of the leg to match the outer side of the trunk. Also, most people use the rounded part of these brackets as the bottom, but I liked the look of the square, so he turned them around.IKEA capita Brackets

We probably could have cut the bolts off so they don’t stick up as much. However, the albums fit just fine, so we decided it wasn’t worth the hassle to cut them off.  This is what they look like from the inside of the trunk.Holes drilled for Capita bolts

Once Double D got all four legs on, he got this picture of the bottom side of the trunk.  Very cool!All four capita brackets installed

And here is the finished trunk, now on legs.  I love how it turned out, and I figure that I can always paint them later to match the black metal pieces on the trunk if I want. For now though, I’m just happy to have it up off the floor.Finished Green Steamer Trunk

Thanks for looking!

Sarah

If you’re interested in trunks, feel free to check out my other trunk revamps:

flat-Top Steamer Trunk Redo

Everwear Trunk

Humpback Steamer Trunk Redo

Linking up with Between Naps on the Porch, A Stroll Thru Life and Domestically Speaking:

b4449-oneonsidebarIMTbutton_zps110fd80cInspire-Me-Monday4_thumb3

One response »

  1. very creative, Sarah/will be a conversation piece/should protect your picture albums quite nicely/it is a pretty old trunk and I am happy that it is still being used/Great job, S and DD!!

Leave a Reply

