Tomato Cage Christmas Tree

Standard
Tomato Cage Christmas Tree

I needed something else for my front porch to decorate for Christmas. I had inherited a huge wreath that I have had on the porch for years, so when I came across tomato cage trees on Pinterest, I knew I could make one to match the wreath. I normally am a white light kind of girl, but the wreath had the multi-colored lights on it, and that is what I ended up putting on the tree.

I started with a regular tomato cage that we have had lying around for years. The spokes were all bent up, and so I had Double D bend them back into shape. From top to bottom, the cage stands 41 inches tall, and the diameter of the round base ring is 14 inches. Tomato cage used as the tree

I then went to Walmart and picked up two 12 foot, and one 9 foot, branch garlands. I also bought a string of 100 count multi-colored lights. The total on this project was $12.00. Not too bad, I don’t think.Christmas tree garland

I literally think this was the easiest project to do.  I started by combining all three spokes together at the top.  I used a paper clip, but just because I couldn’t find my zip ties. From then, it was as easy as wrapping the wired garland around the bottom of the cage, and spiraling up to the top. Every so often I would use green floral wire to tie the garland to the cage, just so it will be easy to move and store when Christmas is over.Tomato Cage Tree halfway done

And here is the cage with the garland all wrapped around it. I did have to spend some time filling in the spaces, and fluffed and twisted the individual branches to look just right. Filled in Tomato cage tree

Then it was time to put the lights on it. I also used the floral wire, and attached the lights in spots.

And here she is outside on my porch. I know most people have theirs put in pots, but I didn’t have one handy, and I didn’t want to spend the money for one right now. I did, however, have a pedestal on the porch already that I use for plants, so I decided to put it on there for right now. Looks pretty cute to me. Tomato Cage Tree with Lights

Thanks for looking!

Sarah

Linking up with Funky Junk Interiors, Between Naps on the Porch and A Stroll Thru Life:

1-Funky_Junks_Party_Junk_link_party_29-AM

One on sidebar

11 responses »

  1. Oh, I think it is beautiful! For ages and ages I decorated my trees and apartments or houses with multicolored lights. It wasn’t until I saw a Burt Wolf episode on PBS some years ago about the Europeans ONLY using white lights on their trees, and then seeing all the beautiful trees on the internet with all white lights, and THEN buying my first and only pre-wired tree with all white lights on it that I was converted. I’m a fan of both! I have seen tomato cage trees on the internet but until your blog I never saw how one was actually constructed, and how relatively easy it is. Yours looks fabulous and I love the pedestal you put it upon, too. I don’t know how you’d be able to stick your tomato cage tree into a pot, anyway. Seems it would have to be a pretty darn big pot across the diameter to fit the diameter of the cage base, and without a “trunk” to stick into the pot would look somewhat wonky! I will definitely keep this post in mind when I’m decorating for Christmas next year. I’ve been thinking for several years now that I would like to do a little something on my miniscule front stoop area, other than “wreath on door.”

    • Hi Jan, I think I like the white best just because they have more of a winter feeling. That’s all I can come up with:) I actually like it a lot on the pedestal, so I might not even look for a pot now. It’s not really heavy, so I am worried about it blowing over. We’ll have to see if it does. Thanks for looking!

  2. Sarah, I think your tomato cage tree looks wonderful. I would never have thought of doing something like this. I do have one question: tomato trees come in a couple different sizes. This one looks quite large to me. Can you tell me how high and the diameter at the base is? Thanks.

    • Hi Vicki, I edited the post to include measurements, so anyone who looks at my blog can compare too. Thanks for the idea:) Anyway, mine measures 41″ high, and 14″ in diameter at the bottoms. Thanks!

      • Thanks for the measurements, Sarah! I have a wooden Christmas tree with three wooden reindeer heads popping out from the tree. I bought it from a secretary at Washburn the first year I worked there. She and her husband made them for craft shows, etc. She had white lights entwined through out the greenery, and wooden tree. Half the light string wouldn’t work, so today I pulled off all the lights and put new colored lights on it. It looks very pretty tonight! I have it on our front porch.

    • Thank you, Marty! Also, I saw that my Tomato Cage Christmas Tree was highlighted on Inspire Me Tuesday. What an honor. Thank you much for doing that. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas!

  3. This is a wonderful idea! I will get your Uncle involved in this for next year. Or I could just have the
    creator come help me:) Uncle Rob make come up missing his tomato cages right out of the garden.
    Love to you and Merry Merry Christmas! Bee:-D

Leave a Reply

