Tin Covered Flat Top Steamer Trunk Revamp

Standard
Tin Covered Flat Top Steamer Trunk Revamp

I think Double D finally got tired of seeing all of my future projects piled up downstairs because he got me a vintage steamer trunk to put them in.  It was actually a good idea, and everything fit perfectly.  These items are typically smaller items, but big enough that I just don’t have room to put them in my desk .

I started with this.  It was in very good shape on the outside, covered with a textured tin. The inside was in great shape too, and someone had taken the time to remove the paper from the inside, leaving the wood exposed. I did find bits still attached here and there to give me an idea of what the paper originally looked like. Tin covered trunk

The other interesting thing was that when I lifted the lid, I could see the original silver color still preserved on the lip underneath. That is why I decided to go with silver for the body. Original trunk color under the lid

I decided to start with the painting first, and used some basic craft paint in silver for the main body. I started by brushing the paint on in sections, and then blotting with a rag.  I wanted some of the imperfections to come through the paint and give it some character.Blotting the silver paint on the trunk

I went with black for the trim pieces. I’m not sure that they were originally black, but the existing color of the trim just wasn’t doing anything for me next to the silver.  The black gives it a finished look. Black paint for the trim pieces on trunk

Once the outside was painted, I started on the inside. I could have left the tray unpainted, but I wanted it to work with the fabric that was going inside. I had some leftover Valspar Indigo Streamer and took it outside to give it a quick coat. I also painted the wood pieces that the tray rests on while inside the trunk.Valspar Indigo Streamer on Trunk tray

The fabric was part of a bed spread that I had bought eons ago, and wasn’t using it on the bed anymore. I love Coca~Cola, so I didn’t want to get rid of it.  I took the stitches out, and used it to fabric the inside. I started by using some spray adhesive to glue the fabric above the tray rests, since there is not room to add any cardboard between the trunk wall and the tray insert. Gluing the fabric to inside of trunk

I then started with the tray, and measured the two openings, cut the cardboard to size, and stapled batting and the fabric to the cardboard. This is how I did all of the sides.Creating the cardboard inserts for the trunk Trunk tray insert

Then I did the top and bottom of the trunk, using upholstery nails to tack the cardboard to the wood lining. Adding cardboard, batting, and fabric does take up some room, but I think it depends on what you use. I had some thicker cardboard available so I used that, and I was just using scrap batting.  Some pieces were thicker than others, so I think that made it more poofy than normal. Starting the insert process in trunk

And here is the bottom finished. The top still needed the four pieces on the sides, but that was done pretty quickly.  I did put the tray inside, and closed the lid, just to make sure everything fit. It did!Steamer trunk almost finished

And here is the outside of the trunk all prettied up.  It is slightly hard to believe it is the same one. I love that you can still see all the scratches and dings. Revamped Vintage Steamer Trunk

I also included a combined picture of the trunk before and after. She wasn’t too bad before, but now she looks great, and is a functional piece of furniture for storage. Can’t beat that:)Before and After of Vintage Steamer Trunk

Thanks for looking!

Sarah

If you’re interested in trunks, feel free to check out my other trunk revamps:

Everwear Trunk

Steamer Trunk IKEA Hack

Humpback Steamer Trunk Redo

Linking up with Domestically Speaking, Funky Junk Interiors, Between Naps on the Porch and A Stroll Thru Life:

One on sidebar1-Funky_Junks_Party_Junk_link_party_29-AM

3 responses »

  1. Your trunk is not only serving a purpose, but it will be pretty to look at. You did a great job on bringing it back to being useful again. Great job! I can’t imagine how much work that took, whew. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Humpback Steamer Trunk Redo | Slowly Faded Treasures

Leave a Reply

