A Happy Yellow Bench Revamp

Standard
A Happy Yellow Bench Revamp

Where to start…Well, I guess it began last August when Double D bought me some awesome vintage chairs to put on our front porch.  We have sadly neglected the front porch for years now, although I did have some amazing theatre seats that I moved around back, so it was a bit empty until he bought me those chairs.

Then I had an idea that probably should have just remained an idea (we’ll get to that in a moment). My parents had this bench in the entryway when I was younger, but I couldn’t remember what had happened to it. They found it for me in the back of their garage, and said I could have it. This is what I started with. Yay, me!!! And Double D:)Happy Yellow Bench 01

Since the back was still pretty well put together and sturdy, we started assembling the seat area.  We used wood glue to glue a board in place and clamped it with these extra-large clamps that Double D’s uncle had given us, let that dry, and then did another one.  Happy Yellow Bench 02

This is what she looked like after the all the boards were glued and put together to dry.Happy Yellow Bench 03

I let it sit overnight to give the wood glue time to really bond and then took off the clamps the next day.  The next step was sanding.  Boy, this baby needed it. The original red paint was chipping in so many places and the boards that no longer had paint on them were rough to the touch. The below picture shows her sanded and ready to paint.  I didn’t take the paint completely off, although I know I probably should have, but I did make sure the paint was smooth to the touch and wasn’t in danger of flaking off. Happy Yellow Bench 04

The primer coat was next, which she needed badly.  Because the wood was old, it soaked the primer up, and I put on two coats, more in the places where it was really bad.  I used Rustoleum’s spray Primer for this one. She’s actually starting to look pretty!Happy Yellow Bench 05

I was busy finishing my pallet table, so I did leave her sit for a week before I got around to putting the yellow coat on. I used Rustoleum’s Warm Yellow spray paint to match the flowers in my vintage patio chair cushions. The picture below shows how we attached metal plates to the bottom of the chair to reinforce the seat. We didn’t take the time to drill holes and insert dowel supports in between each piece of wood for the seat, and we didn’t find any evidence of them being there before, to this is what we came up with. I hope it works:)Happy Yellow Bench 06

And here she is complete.  She isn’t perfect.  The right side of the seat is lower than the left because the wood for the seat must have warped at some point, the right arm is at a different angle than the left one, the front left foot is pretty chipped up, and she has metal plates on her underside. Do you see why I said it might have been easier to have it remain an idea? However, she is put together, and after everything, seems to be fairly sturdy when sat upon. It was in no means professionally put back together and painted so we will have to see how long she lasts.  Since it is going to be outside, I also added a clear coat over the yellow for added protection against the elements.Happy Yellow Bench 07

And another picture with her patio mates.  I love how everything turned out, and the yellow color gives my grey house siding a pretty punch. Happy Yellow Bench 08

Thanks for looking!

Sarah

Partying with Funky Junk Interiors, Between Naps on the Porch, Domestically Speaking, Miss Mustard Seed and A Stroll Thru Life:

1-Funky_Junks_Party_Junk_link_party_29-AM







Furniture Feature Fridays

13 responses »

  1. Well, I chuckled at the first picture because I thot, “No way.” Sarah, your Mamaw would be smiling at you for making her bench usuable again. Can’t wait to see it. Looks nice on the front porch! WAY Cute!!

    • Thanks for letting me know about your link party. I put my yellow bench on there, and also my red pallet table. Also, thanks for hosting the party!

  2. Now, THIS is an amazing revamp. Fantastic. The condition of that bench would make most people junk it. (not me) I love doing that sort of thing..but this…this is the work of a craftsman!! I am here from Marty’s INSPIRE ME party.

    • It was a huge project, but I am so glad I did it. My husband has to be given kudos for putting it back together, which was quite a job, but it turned out better than I could have ever expected. Thanks for looking!

    • It was a lot of work, but it turned out better than I ever thought it would. Thanks for looking and commenting! I do appreciate it.

  3. I think it’s beautiful and the color – it’s like the first sunshine of the spring peeking in the window. I think you did a great job of restoring the piece, and I expect the bench is now very happy with its new looks and new home 🙂

Leave a Reply

