Mom’s Picture Table Runner

Standard

Well, the holidays are over!  As much as I love Christmas, it kind of sprang up on us this year.  We were uncertain about a job loss, and we waited until the last minute so we could find out about it, which threw us into a spin when we finally learned we could spend some money.  That was about three weeks before Christmas. That being said, there was a lot of gift card purchases, and only one crafty idea, Mom’s table runner.

I originally saw a wonderful idea on Pinterest, and I knew I had to do it for Mom.  She is a genealogist and has researched both sides of our family pretty extensively.  This seemed like a perfect idea for her.  The inspiration came from the Ruffled blog, which had it going all the way to the floor, but I just made it the length of Mom’s table.

To get started, I spent some time digging through Mom’s old pictures that she has collected of her ancestors.  I also threw some in some newer pictures. I will say that trying to figure out what pictures I wanted to use was the hardest, and most time-consuming part:)

After that was done, I used my photo editing program to change them all to sepia.  Then, I started printing them out.  I printed them in all different sizes, using the ones with the largest resolution as the 8x10s, just so the smaller resolution ones wouldn’t turn out pixellated.

My sister usually gets roped into helping me with these kinds of things, and so she did all of the laminating. She’s so good at it, since she has used one in the past. We decided to do the laminating just because it is going to be on the table, and accidents can happen.  At least it would be protected if someone spills a drink. After they were all laminated, we got to trim.  My hand hurt a little after all of that was done:)

Next step was laying them out and deciding which one goes where. Now, the next pictures were all taken with my cell phone, so they aren’t the best quality, or anything to brag about, but at least you can see what it looks like. I am not sure where my regular camera was during all of this. This photo is what they looked like before they were put together.  We tried to keep it random and not put too many together from the same family. Laying out the photosFiguring out how to put them together posed a problem, just because I couldn’t decide on which glue to use. I didn’t want anything that would eat through the laminate.  I tried rubber cement, and that failed completely.  Didn’t we use that for gluing stuff in grade school?  Anyway, I decided that was just for paper, not plastic. I finally resorted to glue dots that I had for scrapbooking, and those worked great.  I changed the layout of some of the pictures before I glued them together.Photos glued together

And here is a portion of it on Mom’s table. It is a bit hard to get it all in the camera without standing on a chair to take it:)  It turned out to be about 70 inches long, and I lost track on how many pictures it was.  I think it was somewhere in the range of 30. I was able to get seven of them printed as 8x10s so those took up some space. Finished table runner

I think it turned out great, but I do wish I had taken better pictures.  I think I was in a hurry that day to get everything done:) Obviously it is a little different from the inspiration piece, but it is functional, and has a lot of good memories attached to it. Maybe we need to add some beautiful flowers…

Thanks for looking!

Sarah

Linking up with Funky Junk Interiors and Between Naps on the Porch:

Funky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

6 responses »

  1. As the lucky recipient of this beautiful table runner, I can tell you that I love it!! I didn’t think about standing on a chair to take a picture of it on the table. Perhaps you can help me do that next time you are here.:) I can’t wait for everyone to see it at KJT’s bd party. Each photograph has special meaning and should encourage a lot of conversation. I am so blessed to have such beautiful daughters that put this runner together and My terrific son-in-law for sending me on an exciting scavenger hunt to find the best gift ever! Thank you Sarah, Alison, Daniel, KJT and Chad for a beautiful Christmas gift!

  2. This is SO cool! I love it. At school, we have the laminating machines that can take a long row of something. That might have been really neat to use – if you were a teacher and had access to a large laminating machine. I wonder if Kinko’s or some place like that would have one. But I have glue dots and they are really amazing too, aren’t they!!

Leave a Reply

