Camper Reno, part 1-DIY chalk paint takes over gold trim

Standard
Camper Reno, part 1-DIY chalk paint takes over gold trim

Last summer, Double D and I were lucky enough to buy a camper from friends that were upgrading to a 5th wheel. I love the outdoors, and used to go camping all the time when I was a kid, so this was a great opportunity for us.  It is a 1996 Coachman and it in great shape on the inside.  Our friends really took care of it. The problem?  All the early 1990s brass trim, country blue fabric, and honey colored wood.  Last summer, I had decided that I would try to bring the inside up to date with some hopefully inexpensive modifications. Let’s see if this works.

In this part, I focused on the painting the trim.  Since this was the more glaring of the problems, and the most tedious, I decided to start on that.  The trim was in all rooms of the camper, along the cabinets, and counters. 

I decided to try making chalk paint. I found some recipes online, got the supplies, and started mixing.  The recipe I used was from From Gardners 2 Bergers.  I had only ever seen this done with latex paint but I had acrylic paint that I had gotten from Hobby Lobby. I decided to try it anyway, and it seemed to work fine. I did just what the tutorial said, mixing 1/3 cup of the Plaster of Paris and 2/3 cup of the paint.  I added a slight amount of water after the plaster and paint were well mixed in an old glass maraschino cherry jar. If I had to do it over again, I would probably mix the water in with the Plaster of Paris first, just to eliminate the lumps. Not that there were that many, but there was  still some. Working with chalk paint is a breeze.  I actually love the stuff.  It did take two tedious  coats before the gold was completely covered, but I didn’t have to prime anything, and I didn’t have to sand anything.  Perfect.

This is a picture of what it looks like after the first coat is on. The paint has a rough feel to it, but stuck to the trim very well. That gold is still visible, so on goes the second coat.

After the second coat dried, I have to admit I was a little nervous.  The color looked almost like a light purple, not brown. Thankfully, the top coat returned it to its brown color. 

Most chalk paint tutorials have a wax used as a top coat, but I wanted something made out of sterner stuff to go over the chalk paint.  This trim has to hold up to scratches, dings, water, dirt, etc.  I was in Hobby Lobby again, walking around the paint aisle , and saw a jar of Triple Thick Diamond Glaze.  It is in the picture with the Plaster of Paris above. It is basically a glaze that won’t run, and goes on super thick.  It creates a durable finish, which is what this job needs.  Here is what it looks like before it was completely dry. You can see the white glaze.

The last part was to take a razor blade and go around the edges of everything to get the excess paint off of the countertops. Sorry, this picture is blurry.  It is hard to take a good picture one-handed!

And here is the before and after picture of the bathroom.  No more gold trim!

I am glad the trim painting is done.  That is the worst part for me, I think.  So much detail work.  Next week, if the weather cooperates, the handles, door knobs, hinges, and bathroom faucet all get spray painted!  I am thinking of Oil Rubbed Bronze for everything. See you next time, and thanks for looking.

Total:

$6.99:  Plaster of Paris

$3.60:  DecoArt Acrylic paint, $5.99 -40% off coupon

$0.78:  2 disposable brushes

$2.39:  Triple Thick Diamond Glaze, $3.99-40% off coupon

Free:  Water

Spent:  $13.76  

Linked up to Tip Junkie and Domestically Speaking:

Tip Junkie handmade projects

One response »

Leave a Reply

