Nothing Daunted: The Unexpected Education of Two Society Girls in the West

Standard
Nothing Daunted:  The Unexpected Education of Two Society Girls in the West

I recently joined a book club…and I love it!  Reading is a huge part of my life, and  I thought I could enjoy it with other people. I had never been in a book club, and I didn’t know what to expect. After going for a few months, I have to say getting together with a fun group of ladies, eating good food, having a few drinks and enjoying conversation that doesn’t always focus on the book assigned for that month is quite refreshing.

That being said, the book for the month of November was Nothing Daunted:  The Unexpected Education of Two Society Girls in the West by Dorothy Wickenden.  Click here to read a review from the New York Times, or here to buy the book from Amazon.com.

I have to confess that I didn’t read the entire book.  I had stopped at Barnes & Noble for about 45 minutes one evening because I was killing some time, and decided to read some of it there.  Let’s just say that I don’t think I could have been a pioneer woman.  Even though this was the early 1900s, the stories these two women wrote home about were enough to make you wonder why they left the relative comfort of the east coast.  The book even had some pictures of the type of life these two women had during the year they spend in Colorado, and the snow they encounter.  Just that would have been enough for me to leave:-)

If you like history, this is a very interesting book, and what little I did read, I enjoyed very much.  Also, the author has a website, http://www.nothingdaunted.com/index.html, that has some great content, both about the book and the history of the school where the two women taught.

The book pick for the month of December is The Devil in the White City, by Erik Larson, if you want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

