Vintage Luggage Rack from Holland (supposedly)

Standard
Vintage Luggage Rack from Holland (supposedly)

I came across this cute hat rack for sale at a craft show and I couldn’t pass it up.  The lady selling it said it came from Holland and had been in a friend’s family for many years.  I did some research and it appears that they were used frequently in trains. 

Double D has plenty of hats and they always seem to be smashed when he pulls them out of the closet, so I thought this would help tremendously, and we can use it for when we have guests, too.  She had a few scars, like missing veneer, but I thought I could cover it up.  I just had to have it.  Unfortunately, I forgot to take the before pictures.  I know, bad blogger:)

I used, for the first time, Minwax’s Wood Finish Stain Marker in Red Mahogany for the spots where the veneer was missing, and used the same color wood putty to fill in some holes left by screws.  I was pleasantly surprised at how close the color matched to the original stained veneer.  It is nowhere close to perfect, but I like that is has a story to tell.

I just loved the little details of the piece, along with the slightly rusted metal.  I don’t know the history of the piece for sure, but it would be fun if it did come from Holland! Hmmm, I can see that I forgot to dust it from the next picture, but I think I was just excited to get it hung.And there we have it.  A fun piece of history that is pretty, and functional.  Off to dust.  Thanks for looking!

2 responses »

  1. That is so cool–I love the little details on it! Such a great (and functional!) find! I love that you were able to find out a bit about its past, too.

Leave a Reply

